Video of February 12th Storm Blanketing U.S.

Feb storm 2014

Snow Storm Blankets U.S> Fab 12 2014

Much of the eastern United States was shut down due to a significant snow storm on February 12-13 2014. As you watch this video you can see the entire eastern U.S. covered in a blanket of clouds which dumped over a foot of snow in many areas.

This animation from GOES satellite data shows the progression of the major winter storm in the U.S. south from Feb. 10 at 1815 UTC/1:15 p.m. EST to Feb. 12 to 1845 UTC/1:45 p.m. EST.

Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters

About the author

Recipient of many prestigious NASA Awards including the Exceptional Public Service Medal and the Robert H. Goddard award. Experience includes working for NASA, as a contractor, in satellite design, construction and operations. Expert in the satellite operations concepts and ground systems including command, control, and science data processing.